Want-to vs. Ought-to

   I am so glad to know this. I feel like I should wear one of those bumper stickers, “Please be patient, God is not finished with me yet.” Sometimes my want-to gets confused with my ought-to. There are so many things I feel I ought-to do that I could keep busy forever and still never accomplish God’s want-to’s for me. So, it gives me hope to know that He is working in me.

   More important than wanting to do what pleases Him is having the power to do it. I started to use the word ability, but power is way more than ability. And His Word says He gives us the POWER to do what pleases Him. What is a desire God has placed in your heart that you lack the power to do on your own? I want to encourage you to lean in to His power today.

   As I think about this I am reminded of another something written by the Apostle Paul. He wrote in 2 Cor. 10:3-5 (NLT) that though we are human we don’t wage war as humans do—we don’t use the same weaponry. The weapons we use have divine power (there is that word again) to demolish strongholds. What is a stronghold? Anything that has a strong hold or a strong grip on your life. Is there anything in your life that you would like to have the power to overcome? Paul continues, “We destroy every proud obstacle that keeps people from knowing God.” Now, you may know God, but do you KNOW God? Do you know Him in His power? Do you know Him in His freedom? Do you want to know Him better?

   Begin walking in this truth today. Believe Him when He says that He is working in you, helping you want to do what pleases Him. Believe Him when He says that He is giving you the power to do it.