The Lord’s Prayer

   “Our Father which art in heaven”…the beginning of arguably the most familiar prayer in the world. Do you pray this prayer? It’s the prayer that Jesus taught his disciples when they asked Him to teach them to pray. This has been written about by theologians much more educated and articulate than I, but as I read it in my morning devotions I simply prayed it in my own words. I believe it’s more a formula than a recitation.

   As I started, I simply gave God honor. I spoke aloud and with those in heaven who are crying “Holy, holy, holy” continuously around His throne I also cried, “Holy! Holy are You, Lord!” I gave reverence to His name. I proclaimed His greatness.

   “Thy Kingdom come.” I spent time telling God how I look forward to His Kingdom truly ruling this earth. I look forward to the day when Jesus comes back to rule. I can only imagine what that day will be like, but I anticipate the purity and sinlessness of His ultimate rule in heaven.

   “Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.” I prayed His will be done in my life, that my will would merge with His and I wouldn’t do those things that promote me, that I wouldn’t be selfish, but selfless. I asked God to pervade my day. I asked His will to be done in me, in my husband, in my kids and grandkids. I prayed His will be done in our parents, my brothers and sisters.

   “Give us this day our daily bread.” I do not know what this day will hold—what I will need throughout my day, but He does. So I asked my heavenly Father to provide whatever I need throughout my day—whether strength or knowledge, whether wisdom or patience. I asked Him to provide food for my soul as I continued reading His Word and praying.

   “And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.” I asked Abba Father to bring to my mind any sin I have held dear in my heart that I might ask forgiveness, that I might repent and turn away from. I asked Him to show me any unforgiveness that I’ve held on to so I can forgive (and be forgiven).

   “And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.” I prayed that the Holy Spirit living in me would guard me from those things that tempt me to sin. I prayed that I would want the highest good for others, remembering that it’s not all about me. I asked Him to help me to live with my eyes wide open, seeing not only my own inclination to sin, but the ways I might be unaware of that Satan brings to try to cause me to trip up. I asked Him to guard my heart, guard my lips, guard my thoughts.

   “For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever.” Then I just spent some time again ascribing His greatness. God is not dependent on me for this, but it’s more my need as a reminder of how great He is. As I give Him honor and glory He is lifted high in my heart and mind. I am prompted to see Him for who He is—as worthy of all honor and all glory. I am less inclined to draw attention to myself and my goodness when I keep my heart drawn to His goodness.

   “Amen.”